Why did you choose this?

This life we lead it’s not easy. I had a professor last semester, oddly enough for an Autism methods class, who told me she didn’t know how I did it. How I could choose to work in a field surround by autism and then go home at night and live a world full off autism. My answer to her was simple, I’m a great teacher. I know that sounds like I’m tooting my own horn, and well I am. Some people are naturals in the classroom while others must work on it. I did not know I would find my passion in autism. I too wondered, and still do, why I decided to live 24/7 in autism. There will be no break from it, going to work is still autism. 

If I’m really honest with myself the reason I want to work with children with Autism in the classroom and as an ABA therapist  started off with selfish means. I started this so I would be better equiped to handle my own chid’s needs. 

What I learned was pretty amazing. I could help other parents and their children succeed. I would leave a lasting impression on the world, not just in my own children but in others. 

I’m not sure how I will handle this. I’m not even sure how I handle it at home. The one thing I know is that I love doing it and all the stress and frustration that comes with it is worth it’s weight in gold.

Leave a Reply

