So you think she wants …

Little girl turns 3 in just one short month. I’m not sure where the time has gone, but it has gone. While I will readily say she is a smart and talented little girl, I will also say I wish I could buy her a new type of gift. Selfishly I wish that like many other three year olds I could grace her with a new Big Wheels with her favorite character Minnie Mouse. I selfishly wish she had the motor skills to peddle the trike down the sidewalk like many of her peers. I selfishly wish she would not point to the same baby doll/bottle/stroller that she already has 5 of because I want her to have something new and exciting.

Following my selfish wants for her birthday I have selfish wants for her christmas as well. I want to buy her a gift that she will be so excited to open that she rips the wrapping paper off in excitement to get to her new 3 cheers Minnie Mouse. I want her to have this because she loves minnie and it isn’t  baby doll or barbie. The reality is, even if I buy this for her she may be excited for Minnie, but she will be terrified once it starts to cheer and dance and move. Honestly she may be more focused on ripping the wrapping paper into small pieces because that’s how she rolls.

Despite my selfish wants for her birthday and christmas, I will go out and get her yet one more baby doll and some more barbie dolls because that is what she loves. I will wrap her gifts in Minnie Mouse  wrapping  paper and enjoy whatever the holiday and celebration may bring.

In our world birthdays and Christmas tend to be just another day. Another day that brings too much stimulation and too many new faces in a world that thrives on sameness and their form of controlled chaos.

2 thoughts on “So you think she wants …

  1. I know what you mean. My husband chose a toy he thought our daughter would like over the one I knew she would like. It was a robot boy that talked to you and moved. It was okay for about 5 minutes. Then….the thing would not shut up when you put it away. It would talk from inside it’s box. Our daughter was terrified! She loved electronics but this was just too realistic for her.

Leave a Reply

