Remembering who you are

Image

Ohio State Marching Band

Friday night football games were a way of life for me in high school. I was the ultimate band dork! I had dreams of attending Ohio State and being part of this prestigious band that dots the “I” in script Ohio. Ultimately I did not attend Ohio State, rather I stayed in Florida to build the life I have today.

Fast forward 12 years to present day.  I have three beautiful children, I am finishing my degree in Special Education in May of this year. I have an amazing husband that supports me. He helps me find myself when I lose myself in the family roles and the delicate balancing  act that these roles require.

Image

Before the game

This year my mom helped one more of dreams come true. I got to see Ohio State play live and in a bowl game no less. My amazing Hubby took over parenting duties for the day so I could be free to be me. For one night I was able to go out and know that my children were being taken care of by their daddy. As I got ready I realized I was doing things for me that I rarely do anymore.  I shaved my legs, I put on pants that were not sweats or yoga pants, I did my hair and I did my make up. I left for the game feeling like a woman and not just a tired mommy and wife.

With two children with special needs and one who is as typical as can be but still needs more attention to combat the amount of attention that the younger two need, it is easy to forget to take care of yourself. It’s easy to forget that before you were a mommy or a wife you were a woman. Not only did I get to feel like a woman. I got to spend a lot of time with my mom and my sister bonding in a way we have not done in a very long time. My mom has been a strong support to me throughout all of my life. She has stood there and pulled the strong hand when she had too, even though I know it nearly killed her to do it. She knew when to push me and when to let it slide. She did all of this so that I could become the best version of me. That is what a mom does, this is the type of mom I strive to be for all of my children

Image

In the midst of this great night and getting to be the part of me that is rarely seen these days because of all the other roles I have to fill in, I came to a realization. In order for me to be the kind of mom my mom is, I need to take care of me. I am not just a mom, wife, teacher, advocate, friend, sister or any of the other roles I take on. I am all of these and more. If I intend to keep going at the pace I do for any length of time without burring out I need to take time to take care of me in the process.

Image

I’ve got my sexy jeans on, my make up done, and getting my drink

Sometimes we just need to put our make up on, a pair of nice jeans, some heals and live it up like the beautiful women we are.

Here’s to remembering to put your sexy jeans on, do your hair and make up, get your drink and celebrate being the best version of you!

Leave a Reply

